Annual Dinner and Board Meeting


Every year, on the Friday before Thanksgiving, the Florida State Golf Association hosts the annual dinner. The annual dinner celebrates the best players in the state, our tournament volunteers, board members, and many other important individuals involved in the game of golf. It is our goal to recognize and thank all of these individuals and give them an opportunity to enjoy their accomplishments with friends and family.  

Awards and Recognition 

Players of the Year: The FSGA Championship Committee honors six players with the award for being the state's "Player of the Year." This achievement is given to both men and women in the following categories:

  • Amateur Player of the Year
  • Senior Player of the Year
  • Junior Player of the Year

Selection for these awards are based off of factors including standings on points lists (Championship Points List, Two Years Point List and Florida Junior Tour Points Lists) and player's success in FSGA, USGA, and other select Championships of similar status. The Amateur Player of the Year Award may be a player of any age. 

Volunteers of the Year: Each year, two outstanding FSGA volunteers are recipients of the Charlie Bedford Award. Mr. Bedford was an FSGA Committee Member and volunteered his time both as a Tournament Chairman and Course Rater. Charlie was an expert on the Rules of Golf and a USGA Master Course Rater. He spent countless days on the golf course helping the game he loved and cherished. Of the over 500 FSGA Volunteers, only one receives this honorable award in each of the following categories:

  • Course Rating Volunteer of the Year
  • Tournament Volunteer of the Year

Qualities including exceptional organization, attention to detail, dedication, and an incredible passion for golf are found in all Charlie Bedford Award recipients.

Current Champions: The Florida State Golf Association conducts 40 state championships throughout the calendar year. Current champions from the year's state championships are cordially invited to attend the annual dinner to celebrate their victories. It is an amazing experience to see all of the champions gathered together in one room, along with their families, as they plant themselves into the history books of the FSGA.

Hall of Fame

Formed in 2005, the Florida State Golf Association's Hall of Fame recognizes exceptional individuals for their lifetime contributions to Florida Golf. The Hall of Fame is open to:

  • Exceptional amateur players
  • Dedicated Volunteers
  • Sportswriters
  • Architects 
  • Other individuals who have had a profound effect on the game of golf in Florida

There are currently over 20 individuals in the Hall of Fame.

Special Awards 

Lifetime Achievement Award: On rare occasion, an individual may receive the Lifetime Achievement Award. This award is presented to a person who has dedicated his/her life to the betterment of not only the game of golf, but the people they touch. There are currently three individuals that have received this award:

The individuals who receive this award have blessed the state of Florida with their presence, knowledge, and leadership qualities. It is their unique ability to impact the lives of so many that make them deserving of this rare accomplishment. 

President's Award: This award is reserved for special accomplishment in national or international competitions by a Florida resident. There are currently two individuals who have been presented this award by an FSGA President.

Elections and Board

The FSGA is governed by a volunteer Executive Committee and Board of Directors of approximately 25 individuals. Board members include rules officials, course rating officials, competitive golfers, and men and women of all ages throughout Florida. The board and staff are further guided by an Advisory Committee comprised of between ten and twenty individuals. 

Board Members: Members of the board are elected at the annual dinner each year, and may serve up to two consecutive three-year terms.

Executive Committee: The Executive Committee is comprised of seven total individuals:

  • President
  • Vice President
  • Secretary-Treasurer 
  • Immediate Past President
  • Directors at Large (3)

Each member of the Executive Committee may serve up to two, one-year terms in a designated position. 

FSGA links and resources
© 2021 Florida State Golf Association. All rights reserved. • Sitemap
While viewing this site, you are subject to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.
Return to Top